Sonsivri

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
April 19, 2024, 07:32:58 19:32

Login with username, password and session length

Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: DC-DC Converter  (Read 8473 times)
rgfault

Thank You
-Given: 9
-Receive: 0

« on: May 30, 2008, 03:42:14 03:42 »

Hi guys,
I am new in power electronics. As I read topics on dc-dc converters, it works with high switching frequency in the range of kHz. I understand that the standard operating frequency is oly 50 or 60 Hz. Where and how will the converter get the high switching frequency? Any clarification will be appreciated.

rgfault
vovchik02

Thank You
-Given: 43
-Receive: 13

« Reply #1 on: May 30, 2008, 05:29:56 05:29 »

TOP220 TOP224 and othe by PowerIntegration is base for DC-DC with high input voltage (~110/220/240), LM2578 by NationalSemiconductor for 5-40V inp.
It's simple for use and understend circuit.
See applicationNoute for this or othe device from othe manufacturer.
GOOGLE & (buck / boost / flyBack) DC-DC will help.
GOOD luck!
Walkura

Thank You
-Given: 56
-Receive: 82

« Reply #2 on: May 30, 2008, 09:36:23 21:36 »

Topswitch is nice for small powers .
Depending on what you need the powersupply for (or just for study purposes) have a look at this site .
This is a standard pushpull dc dc converter .
http://sound.westhost.com/project89.htm
It has a relative understandable explanation .
Also look in the ebook section here there i posted some good books concerning smps
Just search for Brown or Pressman .

Good luck 

Posted on: May 30, 2008, 06:50:50 06:50 - Automerged

Let me try to explain the principia a little .
Yes it works out of 50 or 60 Hz (depending on what country you live )
(although dc-dc converter is more specificly when you convert for instance 12 Volt to 24 Volt Dc in Dc out).
Normal offline switchmode powersupply's rectify 230 Volt to Dc (offcourse with buffer capacitor on the DC side)