The Godfather talking
You may crack software. How about me?
Sonsivri

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
March 28, 2024, 09:06:09 21:06

Login with username, password and session length

Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: REQ: Robot line follower & obstacle avoider?  (Read 5567 times)
shobits1

Thank You
-Given: 15
-Receive: 10

« on: January 25, 2008, 09:52:35 21:52 »

I wanna build a robot aiming to follow a dark line in white & avoid obstacles in the why, I think I will use a PIC16F876 or PIC 16F877 (since it have ADC, and have two PWM output).

I have some idea how I will start (like using photo sensor, ultrasonic transceiver …), but I am way confused since it is my first time to work with stuff like this.

If you have any idea, book, or anything could help then please tell me  Grin

Also I think to add extra feature then what I find in the Net, like a small keyboard, and LCD to configure the robot (speed, sensibilities of the sensors, the minimum range to be avoids ….)
If you have any idea to be used as an extra feature, I will appreciate your help

Thank you for your help in advance  Grin Grin Grin
maddoc

Thank You
-Given: 49
-Receive: 14

« Reply #1 on: January 26, 2008, 12:00:51 00:00 »

For the price of an old design 16F877 you could get a cheaper 18f2525, much more program memory and ram, 40MHz clock and so on.
It could be a better starting candidate with lots of room to upgrade afterwards! Just my 2c.
This forum is full of information, search is your best friend!
bliviudaniel

Thank You
-Given: 25
-Receive: 9

« Reply #2 on: January 26, 2008, 10:39:10 10:39 »

I agree with maddoc. Use PIC18F. For example PIC18F4620 is pin to pin compatible with PIC16F877, but it has 64k of flash and 4k of RAM, 1k of EEPROM. (You can run easely a RTOS on him...if you will ever want to upgrade your robot.)

BLD
Kabron

Thank You
-Given: 63
-Receive: 139

« Reply #3 on: January 26, 2008, 01:55:43 13:55 »