The Godfather talking
This is god damn my place! Capisci?
Sonsivri
 
*
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
December 08, 2016, 03:14:02 15:14


Login with username, password and session length


Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Stepper motor burning?  (Read 1179 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
0815achim
Junior Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 51

Thank You
-Given: 225
-Receive: 25


« on: January 28, 2008, 06:08:21 18:08 »

Hi!

Is it typical to remove the voltage from a stepper motor if it has reached his position?
I ask because i'm try to drive a stepper motor with a PIC and in many examples they turn of the power of the signal lines after the motion process has finished.

Could a stepper motor be damaged if i don't turn of the signals?

Thanks for the answers...
0815achim
Logged
madmax
V.I.P
Newbie
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 15

Thank You
-Given: 10
-Receive: 1


« Reply #1 on: January 28, 2008, 06:29:04 18:29 »

I am not experienced with stepper motors but it is my beleif that the power is removed from the motor because it is not usually needed to maintain the stepper in its resting position. leaving the power on may help "lock" the motor in place but at the expence of greater power consumption. If you are supplying the motor with the correct voltage, it may get warm but should not overheat. Hope this is of some help....
Logged
hemlig
Translator
Active Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 168

Thank You
-Given: 26
-Receive: 50



« Reply #2 on: January 28, 2008, 10:52:06 22:52 »

@0815achim

you could use the PIC together with L297/298
http://www.st.com/stonline/books/pdf/docs/1334.pdf

Then the power consumption will be controlled by the circuit.

You could turn the power off when the stepper reaches it's position
but there are some errors involved if the stepper is in a half step position when
the power is turned off and when the stepper is enabled again it could go to the nearest
full step position - the best way to find out if it is suitable for your application is by experimenting.

If you're only using full step mode then it will be more accurate.
Logged

If it work don't fix it!
0815achim
Junior Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 51

Thank You
-Given: 225
-Receive: 25


« Reply #3 on: January 29, 2008, 06:48:53 06:48 »

Thank you very much for your answers!

Your answers are what i also think is true but i was not shure.
I will do longer test with the power on and will see what happens!

@hemlig
I knew the L297/298 but i want the circuit as simple as possible.

Greetings...
0815achim
Logged
Pages: [1]
Print
Jump to:  


DISCLAIMER
WE DONT HOST ANY ILLEGAL FILES ON THE SERVER
USE CONTACT US TO REPORT ILLEGAL FILES
ADMINISTRATORS CANNOT BE HELD RESPONSIBLE FOR USERS POSTS AND LINKS

... Copyright 2003-2999 Sonsivri.to ...
Powered by SMF 1.1.18 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC | HarzeM Dilber MC