Sonsivri

Electronics => AVR, 8051 Family and ARM Area => Topic started by: cowwyland on July 20, 2008, 11:47:56 23:47



Title: Enable Reset Pin
Post by: cowwyland on July 20, 2008, 11:47:56 23:47
Hi,

When I program ATMega8, I set 8MHz internal clock and Disable RESET pin (as
PORTC.6) using AVRProg
The program is running well, but when I want to reprogram again, I can't enable
PORTC.6 as RESET again.   ???
Help me out of this problem !  :(


Title: Re: Enable Reset Pin
Post by: metal on July 21, 2008, 12:14:25 00:14
You need to use parallel programming. If you have ever looked to the ISP schematics, ISP programming header or JTAG header, you will find that RESET pin is used to as a part of the programming/debugging task.

Look at the datasheet page 223 Note 4:

4. When programming the RSTDISBL Fuse Parallel Programming has to be used to change fuses or perform further programming.

BTW, why did u disable it ? How lucky you are any way, before you perform any operations on the fuses, read the datasheet to be sure of what you are doing :)


Title: Re: Enable Reset Pin
Post by: otter on July 21, 2008, 11:58:03 23:58
Yep, been there, done that.
I make sure I don't use that pin now unless I really, really have to, because using a parallel programmer means that a) you have got to have one and b) you have to unsolder the device and put it in a socket. That's not too bad if it is in DIP, but SOIC or QFP or worse still uBGA is just a pain. Probably safer to remove the device and replace it ( and try not to use that pin for anything other than reset/programming)


Title: Re: Enable Reset Pin
Post by: sacoroxo on July 22, 2008, 01:11:03 01:11
Here ( http://www.der-hammer.info/hvprog/index_en.htm ) you can find a easy to build parallel programmer.
The autor says "the only possibility to 'rescue' AVR controllers when you i.e disabled the reset or SPI fuses"

Good Luck.


Title: Re: Enable Reset Pin
Post by: pak on July 23, 2008, 03:49:08 15:49
try this,
   Use external oscillator about 1-4MHz connects to XTAL1 or CLKI pin then try to change the fuse setting to default. It's not working, try another software programmer such as pony2000 or spi flash programmer or avrdude.

Hope it'll help,

regards,
pak


Title: Re: Enable Reset Pin
Post by: anatom on July 29, 2008, 08:18:52 08:18
try this,
   Use external oscillator about 1-4MHz connects to XTAL1 or CLKI pin then try to change the fuse setting to default. It's not working, try another software programmer such as pony2000 or spi flash programmer or avrdude.

Hope it'll help,

regards,
pak

Did'nt work for me... Must try using parallel programmer   :(


Title: Re: Enable Reset Pin
Post by: Mega32 on August 25, 2008, 09:47:22 21:47
try this,
   Use external oscillator about 1-4MHz connects to XTAL1 or CLKI pin then try to change the fuse setting to default. It's not working, try another software programmer such as pony2000 or spi flash programmer or avrdude.

Hope it'll help,

regards,
pak

This is usually done when the clockfuses has been set wronlgy.

Won't work for a Reset disable...

The only thing that can cure that , is as suggested above .. a HighVoltage Parallel programming.

Mega32


Title: Re: Enable Reset Pin
Post by: LEAS on August 29, 2008, 10:15:29 10:15
For thise aim exist another way. You mast have same another MCU and second MCU mast be programmed special program. I see thise in internet and download it(though I have parallel programmer). if this whomever it is necessary i find it in my discs and attach or upload anywhere.


Title: Re: Enable Reset Pin
Post by: johnri on August 30, 2008, 04:35:47 04:35
You could try this simple AVR Fuse-Lock Bit Programmer.

It comes with source code.

http://rapidshare.com/files/141207604/Simple_AVR_Fuse-Lock_Bit_Programmer_v1.0_beta.zip.html


Title: Re: Enable Reset Pin
Post by: LEAS on August 31, 2008, 02:01:36 14:01
http://startcd.narod.ru/rstdisbl_mega8/rstdisbl.htm
RSTDIS in Mega8 change to start condition. Who can read in Russian.


Title: Re: Enable Reset Pin
Post by: dennis78 on November 12, 2008, 01:00:39 01:00
http://startcd.narod.ru/rstdisbl_mega8/rstdisbl.htm
RSTDIS in Mega8 change to start condition. Who can read in Russian.

try translate with http://translate.google.com