Sonsivri

Electronics => Pic C Languages => Topic started by: pecpys on December 18, 2010, 04:19:33 04:19



Title: Problem when change LCD on explorer16 (microchip TCP stack code)
Post by: pecpys on December 18, 2010, 04:19:33 04:19
Hi. I change LCD on explorer16 from Tryly's LCD 16x2 3.3V (TSB1G7000-E) to be Lumex LCM-SO1062 (16x2 5V)
I can not see any thing on LCD. Do I modify anything in code? Now i use TCP stack of microchip.


Title: Re: Problem when change LCD on explorer16 (microchip TCP stack code)
Post by: ALLPIC on December 18, 2010, 04:25:09 04:25
Previous one is 3.3V and now you have connected 5V make sure that all datalines of LCD connected to microcontroller to 5V tolarrent pin. then only LCD will start otherwise Microcontroller is gone now.


Title: Re: Problem when change LCD on explorer16 (microchip TCP stack code)
Post by: pecpys on December 18, 2010, 04:47:05 04:47
On explorer16 board have 4 footprint for connect any type of LCD. And I think I use LCD with correct footprint on board.
Power supply to LCD is 5V already.
I worry that the problem is come from code. but I don't know where is it?


Title: Re: Problem when change LCD on explorer16 (microchip TCP stack code)
Post by: pickit2 on December 23, 2010, 03:55:03 15:55
Sounds like it is a problem with your code. do you have the data sheets for TSB1G7000-E & LCM-SO1062?
A quick google search shows the LCM-SO1062 is used alot on explorer16 board, have you tried your code in proteus?


Title: Re: Problem when change LCD on explorer16 (microchip TCP stack code)
Post by: gan_canny on December 23, 2010, 05:47:54 17:47
There are very few exceptions to the advice of reading the spec before connecting anything. Some LCD's have a controller and bias support built into an attached PCB. Others don't. There are a number of popular controllers out there but even with a popular controller the interface can be 4 bit or 8 bit. An incorrect bias voltage can ruin a LCD since the crystal fluid acts much like a very sensitive battery that will fail on over voltage. Even with the correct bias and the correct interface LCD's differ in the contrast voltage ( fine adjustments to the bias). LCD's differ in the initialization both to commands and to timing. Simulators are of limited value since they are at best an approximation to reality and at worst simulate nothing of value. Now its cheaper to incorrectly wire a simulator than the real thing which may fail for good so simulators aren't valueless.


Title: Re: Problem when change LCD on explorer16 (microchip TCP stack code)
Post by: janakfun on January 05, 2011, 04:46:21 04:46
I would rather suggest to compare the datasheets of two LCDs. You may look at LCD initialization mainly command sequences and command value. If you find any difference then do the necessary changes in code where LCD driver is written.


Title: Re: Problem when change LCD on explorer16 (microchip TCP stack code)
Post by: robban on January 05, 2011, 02:04:18 14:04
I'm not sure, but is Explorer 16 board really meant for TCP/IP stack? Myself, I use PICDEM.net 2 board...


Title: Re: Problem when change LCD on explorer16 (microchip TCP stack code)
Post by: TomJackson69 on January 05, 2011, 04:34:48 16:34
On explorer16 board have 4 footprint for connect any type of LCD. And I think I use LCD with correct footprint on board.
Power supply to LCD is 5V already.
I worry that the problem is come from code. but I don't know where is it?

Draw circuit in Proteus, run your code. If not works than post your circuit and your code; maybe we can help.

Tom

//===============================//

Actually you can go to "C:\Program Files\Labcenter Electronics\Proteus 7 Professional\SAMPLES\VSM MPLAB Viewer\Eval Boards\Explorer16 with PIC24FJ128GA010" and use this Explorer16 SCH.

Tom


Title: Re: Problem when change LCD on explorer16 (microchip TCP stack code)
Post by: Bob on April 19, 2011, 12:04:59 00:04
Sure does appear like a code problem perhaps you need to check the data sheets again. If you still get problems let me know.